PDA

View Full Version : New member from the Beautiful Coachella Valley

Jamison
05-28-2012, 11:28 AM
Hi..... New member here. I'm a general class operator living in Thousand Palms California. I do a bit of RV'ing in a 2008 HR Arista Class A. My wife and I love to travel the highways of the west and I often combine our love for camping with my love for Ham radio.

KF5BET
05-28-2012, 01:22 PM
Welcome aboard Jay! Glad you could make it.

Bunch of nice guys on here, plenty of reading material throughout the site.

Galen
KF5BET

Radio
05-28-2012, 04:41 PM
I often combine our love for camping with my love for Ham radio.

Then you are in the right place. :welcome:
Jump right in and join the fun.

One Country Boy
05-28-2012, 09:47 PM
Welcome aboard Jay... 1947 must have been a very good year. :) I see you and I were both born in that year.

Glad you found us. You will not find a better bunch of guys and gals then right here. I'm in a little rural town about 25 miles from Panama City, FL.

Is that your father on your QRZ page, in the photo? Or, is that you on your Dad's station? Looks like some good old AM and CW gear there.

Jump right in and post often with us. I will be looking forward to reading your posts. Oh yes, are you now retired? If so what did you do Jay?

Jamison
05-30-2012, 11:03 AM
Hi All

Thank you for the warm welcome.

Jim.... That's me in about 1956-57 setting at my Dads and brothers station. My dad got me interested in radio at about 8 years old. I was the hands on guy always building stuff like my dad. I must have built 20 - 25 Heathkit projects by the time I was 12. You asked if I am retired and the answer is yes. I retired from a life of many careers but the last work I did was as a project manager for a major medical equipment manufacture for about 9 years. I was responsible for the installation process of there equipment in hospitals through out North America.

Thanks for asking

WD8QBQ
06-02-2012, 08:04 AM
Welcome, Jay.

:welcome:

N3LYT