Open Roads Radio forum for Ham, Amateur Radio and RV camping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2015, 08:05 PM   #11
wa8yxm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mobile, on the road
Posts: 1,139
Send a message via AIM to wa8yxm Send a message via Yahoo to wa8yxm Send a message via Skype™ to wa8yxm
Default

I would still put the converter in a proper Farady cage. A copper screen, (like a window screen but frankly for all but UHF you can have fairly large holes) all six sides, with condenser/capacitors on all wires going in and out, Ground the cage to the same ground as your radio.. ARRL showed a cheap TV suffering from TVI from their multi-kilowatts.. And what happened when they caged it.
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2015, 10:07 PM   #12
NN5I
Carl, nn5i
 
NN5I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
I would still put the converter in a proper Farady cage.
Either that, or a Faraday cage.

Actually that's an excellent idea, but not always very easy to do. In my motor home, flor example, I would estimate that it would be a two- to three-day project, during which there'd be no lights in the interior -- excepting only a single fluorescent fixture over the galley sink; maybe not even that, since I'd have to kill the 12ovac to the converter.

The converter is at floor level under a closet, inconvenient to work on. When I replaced the converter a year or two ago, it was a significant job and took a whole day, even without the huge additional work of disconnecting, bypassing, and reconnecting all of the many wires.

Whew! I'd rather do without ham radio, unless I had somewhere else to live for a week or so while I cage the converter.
__________________
-- Carl
NN5I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 11:53 PM   #13
JNeeleyW6ZKH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 10
Default

I finally just ended up flipping the breaker at the power panel to OFF and that was the only way I could get rid of the hash, which was about 20 over S9.
__________________
John & Connie Neeley
W6ZKH XYL
Mutts: Sally and Bailey
2008 Dodge 3500 Diesel Quadcab
Montana 3440RL 5'er
JNeeleyW6ZKH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 09:45 AM   #14
N3LYT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 684
Default

I had a battery maintainer that was a really good QRP transmitter on 10 meters it could do 900' with no antenna I think with a key and an antenna I could work the world with it!
N3LYT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 02:32 PM   #15
wa8yxm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mobile, on the road
Posts: 1,139
Send a message via AIM to wa8yxm Send a message via Yahoo to wa8yxm Send a message via Skype™ to wa8yxm
Default

There are several solutions up to and including a different converter. Some are worse than others.

Ferrites, Caps, And a Farady Cage are the top cures, that last one is kind of drastic, but very very effective.
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 05:20 AM   #16
Wa2yly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hawley pa
Posts: 17
Default

My converter and battery charger were on the same 110v breaker.I separated them and installed another 110v breaker.when im on the radio i shutoff breaker for battery charger.this helps a lot.I know this is not a solution,but a work around.
73 bob wa2yly
Wa2yly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.