Open Roads Radio forum for Ham, Amateur Radio and RV camping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2009, 01:05 PM   #1
W6DCS
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 67
Default Power for New Rig

For those that own Chevy Duramax's - where do you run your power from? I looked and I can get it from a few places, one of the batteries, the 80 amp stud at the fuse block, or the emergency jump/charge stud. It is for a Kenwood TM-710.
__________________
2007 Chevrolet 2500HD D/A Classic CC Log Bed 4X4
2008 Jayco 299RLS
Kenwood TM-D710
Kenwood TM-741A
Yaesu VX-7R
ICOM 02AT
ICOM 04AT
ICOM 12GAT
Kenwood TM-331
W6DCS, ex KC6LKS
W6DCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 06:32 PM   #2
jagco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Southwest, Illinois
Posts: 311
Default

Don't have a Duramax, but any of those sounds like it would work. Just take the shortest route, and fuse accordingly.
jagco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 06:55 PM   #3
W6DCS
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 67
Default

The batteries are a bit tight, I was thinking of tapping into the 80 amp buss on the fuse block. It's my understanding the post where the 40 amp trailer comes off of is the same post they run the PTO. I am hoping someone has used this tap and can tell me if there is enough power.
__________________
2007 Chevrolet 2500HD D/A Classic CC Log Bed 4X4
2008 Jayco 299RLS
Kenwood TM-D710
Kenwood TM-741A
Yaesu VX-7R
ICOM 02AT
ICOM 04AT
ICOM 12GAT
Kenwood TM-331
W6DCS, ex KC6LKS
W6DCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 07:38 PM   #4
w3zi
Member
 
w3zi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Miami, FL / Ashburn, VA
Posts: 90
Default

Hi - I have a GMC 1/2 Gas and was fortunate to find the battery connects to the alternator through a stud compatment that is located right underneath the alternator. I take it you probably have dual batteries on your Durmax and the diesel is not set up this way.

In any case, most of the GM vehicles I have seen (including my MH Workhorse Chassis) have at least one fused stud that is there to accomdate accessories. The one on the my MH has two seperate fused 40 Amp studs. Thats where I plan to hook up my radio and I am sure it will do fine. Might actually be listed on the fuse cover ?

Hope this helps -- 73
Mark, W3ZI
__________________
Mark Johnson - W3ZI
2007 National Sea Breeze LX / 8367
2007 Chevrolet Malibu Toad
TS2000 / Yaesu 857D and a Tarheel Antenna
w3zi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 09:46 PM   #5
Vette Racer
Junior Member
 
Vette Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 24
Default

I get mine off the passenger side battery.
__________________
Tom
KE5NCP
Vette Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 09:03 AM   #6
wa8yxm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mobile, on the road
Posts: 1,139
Send a message via AIM to wa8yxm Send a message via Yahoo to wa8yxm Send a message via Skype™ to wa8yxm
Default

I would go with either the 80 amp stud or the jump start stud..Where I went on my car (not a duramax but still a chevy) was the jump start stud but I only run 35 watts in the car

In the Motor home I went with chassis batteries for the TM-733 and the main House 12 volt panel for the TS-2000
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 07:56 PM   #7
TXiceman
Senior Member
 
TXiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Near Houston, TX
Posts: 553
Default

On my Ford, I went directly to the port side battery.

Any of you guys getting injector noise on HF with the Ford diesel. No noise on VHF/UHF.

Ken
__________________
KE5DFR
2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB, 2012 F350 Dually crew cab, 6.7L,
Mobile- Yaesu FT857D w/ Lil' Tarheel II antenna and Larsen dual bander, Turbo Tuner.
Base unit...Kenwood TS480HX, LDG AT200 Pro tuner, Eagle One Vertical and Windom 80 meter dipole.
Standard Schnauzer..her call is K9WOOF
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 11:21 PM   #8
N2THO
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1
Default

Pasenger side battery on my duramax. Lots of noise on the hf side though...
N2THO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 07:33 AM   #9
w3zi
Member
 
w3zi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Miami, FL / Ashburn, VA
Posts: 90
Default

Injector noise is tough. In the end I think that was the source of the noise my Dad had it on his HF rig in his Ford Powermax. I have not tried it, but have heard some people reduce it and some other auto RFI by using cooper wrap around the wiring. Might work around the injector wiring.

73
Mark
__________________
Mark Johnson - W3ZI
2007 National Sea Breeze LX / 8367
2007 Chevrolet Malibu Toad
TS2000 / Yaesu 857D and a Tarheel Antenna
w3zi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.