Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Open Roads Radio forum for Ham, Amateur Radio and RV camping

Old 08-22-2012, 11:51 PM   #1
NN5I
Carl, nn5i

Default Dealing with Isaac

Well, here I am in Central Florida, with Hurricane Isaac due to visit in about four days. Advice?

For example, if I don't run off northward -- not planning to -- what precautions should I take? I plan to have full tanks (water, diesel, propane) and empty tanks (black, grey). That way if power goes out I'll have plenty available runtime on the generator and plenty endurance of all sorts.

When expecting a blow, should I leave the leveling jacks down (for added stiffness against being moved by wind) or up (for a wider footprint, since the tires are farther apart than the jacks)?

How about other stuff I don't think of because I'm new to full-timing?

All advice, all thoughts welcome.
Old 08-23-2012, 06:07 AM   #2
W5DOK
Old Member

Carl, There is no such thing as being safe in an RV during a hurricane. I've been unfortunate to have been in a couple and the energy in a storm is unbelievable. Best advice is to get the hell out of there. In case you stay, good luck.
Doc
W5DOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 11:21 AM   #3
wa8yxm

Send a message via AIM to wa8yxm Send a message via Yahoo to wa8yxm Send a message via Skype™ to wa8yxm

Quote:
Originally Posted by NN5I View Post
Well, here I am in Central Florida, with Hurricane Isaac due to visit in about four days. Advice?

For example, if I don't run off northward -- not planning to -- what precautions should I take?

There is basically one way (Actually several variations on it) to be safe in an RV during a hurricane..

It's called Nebraska (Wisconson, Northern Michigan,, And so on).
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 06:52 PM   #4
N3LYT

High ground inland.
N3LYT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 07:28 PM   #5
NN5I