Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Open Roads Radio forum for Ham, Amateur Radio and RV camping

Old 07-19-2009, 08:55 AM   #1
donnie

Send a message via MSN to donnie
Default FT 90r Opinion

Found a Yaesu FT 90r dual band for sale in the neighborhood of $200.
ID like some opinions, being as Im fairly new to ham radio, on how good of a radio this would be for a mobile in the Jeep.
Thinking about either getting that or a Mirage BD 35 amp to use with the HT.
Thanks.

donnie

K7UTA
donnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 09:14 AM   #2
One Country Boy

I once had one of the little Mirage amps with a handheld. I don't recall it it was a 30 or 50 watter. Worked very well, I was pleased with it. Mirage is generally good gear. I have two Mirage amps. I don't use them and probably need to sell them. Just boxed up in the closet.

Sorry, I don't know anything abput the FT-90. Not much help, I'm afraid. There are some reviews on eHam.net, did you look at them ? Here's the link: http://www.eham.net/reviews/detail/75

Jim

Old 07-19-2009, 09:35 AM   #3
donnie

Send a message via MSN to donnie

Thanks for the reply Jim.
I did look at E Ham and the opinions were mixed but sortof leaning towards the owners being pleased with them.
THe main reason for the Mirage is 5 in gets 40 out.I may not need os use it but its nice to know it would be there.
IF the one of the amps you have is a 35 dual band, let me know if interested in selling.

donnie

K7UTA
donnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 05:11 PM   #4
One Country Boy

Quote:
Originally Posted by donnie View Post
Thanks for the reply Jim.
I did look at E Ham and the opinions were mixed but sortof leaning towards the owners being pleased with them.
THe main reason for the Mirage is 5 in gets 40 out.I may not need os use it but its nice to know it would be there.