Open Roads Radio forum for Ham, Amateur Radio and RV camping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2009, 07:24 PM   #1
One Country Boy
Senior Member
 
One Country Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wewahitchka, FL
Posts: 1,204
Default Assistance needed locating a capacitor please.

Hey guys,

Christmas of 2007, my XYL bought me an upright 15 gal air compressor from Lowes. One of the made for Lowes, Task Force Brand. The little electric motor has probably not run one hour totally. The other day it popped the breaker and would not run after I reset it. The run/start capacitor is bad in it. Called all the numbers Lowes gave me and the "800" number on the side of the machine. All out of business. The cap is made in China. Wouldn't you know it. I've been looking at the manufacturing company on the internet and called a couple of distributors in the states, but guess what ? Out of business. Hard times everywhere.

Here's are the numbers on it or the ones that I can make out. I'll also include some photos. It's manufactured by Huizhong in China. It is their #CBB65. It's 120 uF +/- 5%. Although the motor operates on 120 volts AC it says rated for 2?? (can't make out the numbers. Probably 240. It also has a # E232158 next to the "US" symbol. It also has a symbol that I think is a stateside company, looks like a backwards "R", attached to a "U". Don't know if we can see that in the photo I took or not.

Anyway, if you find one or know of a distributor, please let me know. I checked locally today and none. I've been looking on the web but no luck yet. If I could find the same value, I really could do without the mounting bolt as long as it is about the same physical size.

Thanks for anything you can do.



Attached Images
File Type: jpg cap1w.jpg (76.2 KB, 66 views)
File Type: jpg cap2w.jpg (89.7 KB, 63 views)
File Type: jpg cap3w.jpg (44.3 KB, 63 views)
File Type: jpg cap4w.jpg (32.6 KB, 63 views)
__________________
Jim ~ W4EWA
One Country Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 08:00 PM   #2
Andy N1ORK
Senior Member
 
Andy N1ORK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 1,034
Send a message via Yahoo to Andy N1ORK Send a message via Skype™ to Andy N1ORK
Default

Try this link Jim, hope it works for you.
Andy - n1ork

http://www.made-in-china.com/china-p...or-CBB65-.html



__________________
CQ..CQ..CQ..DE ANDY, N1ORK..QTH Manchester, CT...QRZ..QRZ..
Hello anyone out there?
Is this thing on?
SkyWarn, CERT, EmComm
Andy N1ORK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 09:44 PM   #3
k8zfj
Member
 
k8zfj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: RI
Posts: 91
Default

the UR says it's a UL safety approved part; any motor run cap, that meets same ratings as indicated on the part should work.

try this company too:
http://lcr-inc.com/motor-run-capacitors.html

altho they import everything from Asia, maybe they have one available in local stock.

I've referred some of my former customers to them with success
__________________
Randy, K8ZFJ
'08 4WindsChateauSport
Icom 703+;Argonaut 515 plus various qrp homebrew rigs
k8zfj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 10:24 PM   #4
Radio
Administrator
 
Radio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA, USA
Posts: 3,004
Default

Try a walk-in appliance part dealer, that sells parts for washing machines, A/C units and that sort of thing. You might have to use duct tape and bailing wire to mount the new one, but I bet they'd have one that worked.
__________________

KU4OJ "Wade" Ships Captain, CFO, Chief Engineer
KG4DQQ "Kathy" 1st Officer, Navigator, Best Friend
2007 F-150 SuperCab - 2009 Rockwood 8280SS
Lot's of mostly Kenwood stuff

Radio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 02:40 AM   #5
One Country Boy
Senior Member
 
One Country Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wewahitchka, FL
Posts: 1,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radio View Post
Try a walk-in appliance part dealer, that sells parts for washing machines, A/C units and that sort of thing. You might have to use duct tape and bailing wire to mount the new one, but I bet they'd have one that worked.
I did all that first. Checked with an AC & Heating friend, he checked his catalogs, nothing that had that much capacitance. I went to four different places in Panama City today. One that specializes in compressors and air tools, nothing big enough. An electric motor shop had a starting cap that covered that range but not a run cap. I'm told a starting capacitor would burn up quickly when used in a running capacity. I found 2 60 uF's. I was thinking of putting them in parallel, but the physical size was way too big.

Andy, I checked that "Made in China" place everyone I called had gone out-of-business. Randy's site looks promissing. I'll call them tomorrow. The problem is finding a start/run capacitor with that much capacitance. I don't care if it has the stud on it, I can haywire it to something for support like Wade says.

Thanks guys, I appreciate it. I'll keep looking.



__________________
Jim ~ W4EWA
One Country Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 10:42 AM   #6
KC1BUD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Gateway to the thumb
Posts: 243
Default

Jim,

Any rewind shops near you? A lot of those shops that rewind motors would carry them.
__________________
Dan,
Almost a Marine (Army/Navy)
15 months in VietNam (12 Army/3 Navy)
Love to
KC1BUD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 04:29 PM   #7
One Country Boy
Senior Member
 
One Country Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wewahitchka, FL
Posts: 1,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KC1BUD View Post
Jim,

Any rewind shops near you? A lot of those shops that rewind motors would carry them.
I was at a rewind repair shop yesterday. I just knew they would have what I needed. They had a 120 mfd but it was a starting cap, not a run type cap. There's a difference I'm told.

Most all the run caps fall in about the 30 - 60 mfd range. Difficult to find with a 120 value. I'll keep looking though. The link K8ZFJ sent looks promising, have just not made the call yet. I sincerely appreciate all the suggestions and links. Just been busy with other stuff today.

Thanks again guys...



__________________
Jim ~ W4EWA
One Country Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 06:33 PM   #8
w3zi
Member
 
w3zi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Miami, FL / Ashburn, VA
Posts: 90
Default

Hi Jim - Hope you are doing well. For what you are using it for the capacitor probably is a Start/Run type. Not sure what kind of circuit you have there on the compressor but for bigger motors there is typically a start capacitor that is switched on during a start up and it is switched out of the circuit through a relay or contactor and a run capacitor kind of takes over while the motor is running. I dont know what you were going to pay locally but chances are the one you found would work. If not, you take a look at Newark Electronics -- We deal with them all the time. I didnt read up on the specs, but this one might work also (Looks like its about $6.50 ....

http://www.newark.com/cornell-dubili...tor/dp/72K6669

Let me know how you get on with it
73
Mark
__________________
Mark Johnson - W3ZI
2007 National Sea Breeze LX / 8367
2007 Chevrolet Malibu Toad
TS2000 / Yaesu 857D and a Tarheel Antenna
w3zi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 09:22 PM   #9
One Country Boy
Senior Member
 
One Country Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wewahitchka, FL
Posts: 1,204
Default

Thanks Mark, that one looks like it will work. It is a 120 mfd start/run capacitor.



__________________
Jim ~ W4EWA
One Country Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 09:31 AM   #10
wa8yxm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mobile, on the road
Posts: 1,139
Send a message via AIM to wa8yxm Send a message via Yahoo to wa8yxm Send a message via Skype™ to wa8yxm
Default

I will support the others, An appliance store or even an electronics parts store

Fairly common part, exact match is NOT important so you can go off by as much as 20 percent. I'm not sure which way is the better way to go
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.