Open Roads Radio forum for Ham, Amateur Radio and RV camping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2011, 08:05 PM   #1
KG5UN
Member
 
KG5UN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 40
Default My first

Here is a photo of me the first time I operated from the travel trailer.


Ed Maikranz
KG5UN
Abilene, TX
2011 Passport 3050BH
2005 Forde Excursion
Attached Images
File Type: jpg rv-ham.jpg (56.1 KB, 142 views)
File Type: jpg rig.jpg (45.1 KB, 142 views)
KG5UN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 11:53 AM   #2
TXiceman
Senior Member
 
TXiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Near Houston, TX
Posts: 553
Default

I am working on how to get the "shack" to work in the trailer...and an antenna.

Glad to have you here.

ken
__________________
KE5DFR
2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB, 2012 F350 Dually crew cab, 6.7L,
Mobile- Yaesu FT857D w/ Lil' Tarheel II antenna and Larsen dual bander, Turbo Tuner.
Base unit...Kenwood TS480HX, LDG AT200 Pro tuner, Eagle One Vertical and Windom 80 meter dipole.
Standard Schnauzer..her call is K9WOOF
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 09:37 AM   #3
KG5UN
Member
 
KG5UN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 40
Default

Greetings Ken, thanks for checking out my shack.
That pic was from our first time taking the HF rig with us.
The TS-2000 did a great job, the internal tuner matched the antenna well. The rig was just set up on a tray table in the rear slide room.
The Ultimax100 antenna was simple to get up and running, just threw it up on top of the slide and ran the wire to a tree limb. Ran the coax in through the seal on the slide.
I am sure I will improve it as time goes on but was just tickled how easy it was and how well it worked!
73,
Ed Maikranz
KG5UN
Abilene, TX
2011 Passport 3050BH
2005 Forde Excursion
KG5UN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 10:33 AM   #4
KC1BUD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Gateway to the thumb
Posts: 243
Default

I was wondering, Has anyone used the existing Coax connections that are installed on newer rvs for cable TV, for their radio antennas?? Cable TV coax is usually 75 ohms as opposed to the Coax we use for our radios which is 50 ohm. This would let you bring the feed in without drilling a hole or possibly compromising a seal some where. The coax is routed through the RV but not connected to the TV antenna system. In my case, I don't hook up to cable at the parks, and what TV I watch is Over the air.

Just a thought.
__________________
Dan,
Almost a Marine (Army/Navy)
15 months in VietNam (12 Army/3 Navy)
Love to
KC1BUD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 09:32 AM   #5
Oldmax
Dale - N8SAC
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Huntington WV USA
Posts: 30
Default

I ran two lines down through the refer vent will take pictures then just put 2 short piece of 1 1/2 angle on awning rail on back side of trailer to mount antennas on. I have 2-MTR AND 10-mtr on them. Take the off when traveling. Also added two barrel connectors beside outside cable TV outlet. Used a weatherproof hatch.
Oldmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 07:21 AM   #6
One Country Boy
Senior Member
 
One Country Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wewahitchka, FL
Posts: 1,204
Default

Good choice in radios Ed. I run the TS2000 here at home and also have a TS-450SAT. I like 'em both. Most all my gear is Kenwood stuff, just sort of partial to Kenwood.

Someone mentioned the use of the existing television coaxial cable in the RV (in this thread), I think it was Dan. I've never tried that. Our motorhome has RG6 throughout it. RG6 is a 75 ohm cable. I would think by the time you matched the feedline to 50 ohms (more or less), you would have so much loss it would not be feasable. It's already a challenge to get a good mobile/portable antenna up and working well. Just my thoughts and I may be totally wrong. Please don't be offended by my disagreeing Dan.

Ed, when we had our Jayco 5th wheels, I used to quickly run a couple of feedlines through the slide-out seals as you mentioned doing. It worked very well for me. I try to use the RG8X cable. The one I use is gray in color, very soft outter insulation and most flexible. There's plenty of it for sale on e-Bay, that's where I normally buy it. You can get some good deals on 50 and 100 foot lengths with the PL259 connectors already in place. The two slides on our motorhome are tight. There's just not enough room to even pass the PL259 through. We've had the vehicle several months now and I need to permanantly mount some radios and antennas.

Those are my thoughts, sorry for rambling so long.
__________________
Jim ~ W4EWA
One Country Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:50 AM   #7
wa8yxm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mobile, on the road
Posts: 1,125
Send a message via AIM to wa8yxm Send a message via Yahoo to wa8yxm Send a message via Skype™ to wa8yxm
Default

Hey, I have a table like that too, though my TS-2000 is bolted to a custom made mount in a different area.

Congrats on "Going Portable" It's a great way to operate.

I have found that there are some states in this country that are "Much in demand" on one net when I say "Up for grabs" ... Well... It's hard to pick just one station to reply to.
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 06:26 PM   #8
K3NOQ/Mobile
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Full Time RV'er, anywhere USA, usually Canyon Lake Tx in winter, SoPark Co. CO. in summer
Posts: 56
Default Using existing 72 ohm RV cabling

Quote:
Originally Posted by KC1BUD View Post
I was wondering, Has anyone used the existing Coax connections that are installed on newer rvs for cable TV, for their radio antennas?? Cable TV coax is usually 75 ohms as opposed to the Coax we use for our radios which is 50 ohm. This would let you bring the feed in without drilling a hole or possibly compromising a seal some where. The coax is routed through the RV but not connected to the TV antenna system. In my case, I don't hook up to cable at the parks, and what TV I watch is Over the air.

Just a thought.
Bud, the coax for cable tv operation usually is routed via the TV pre-amplifier for the roof TV antenna. If the Amplifier is switched off, the cable tv routes through the amplifier. If the Amplifier is ON, the tv signal from the antenna is amplified. I would not use the cable tv coax for any ham rf use, unless you want to see and smell smoke.

// John/K3NOQ Mobile5 (today)
__________________
'73 John

2K Winnebago Adventurer 35U
Icom 7000 w/ Lil' Tarheel, Comet B250,6 Mtr Squalo
4wd Chevy Tracker w/FT7800 & TS-60
Fulltimer-Ret'd 2-Way & Brdcst tech.
APCO - OFWA - SKP's - MSP
K3NOQ/Mobile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 10:31 AM   #9
wa8yxm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mobile, on the road
Posts: 1,125
Send a message via AIM to wa8yxm Send a message via Yahoo to wa8yxm Send a message via Skype™ to wa8yxm
Default

In most RV's there are lots of holes you can borrow for COAX.. I drilled most of mine but I've also routed via existing holes.

A good choice is to follow the plumbing.. At some point it passes to the outside, and you can often slip out that hole to the basement in a motorhome or a compartment in a trailer. Then out the door or in some cases out the portal.
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 05:04 AM   #10
Andy N1ORK
Senior Member
 
Andy N1ORK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 1,034
Send a message via Yahoo to Andy N1ORK Send a message via Skype™ to Andy N1ORK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
In most RV's there are lots of holes you can borrow for COAX.. I drilled most of mine but I've also routed via existing holes.

A good choice is to follow the plumbing.. At some point it passes to the outside, and you can often slip out that hole to the basement in a motorhome or a compartment in a trailer. Then out the door or in some cases out the portal.
Don't forget to seal those holes underneath real well. Some little critters only need the space of a dime to get in. I like to use expanding foam trimmed flush and then covered with aluminum tape.
__________________
CQ..CQ..CQ..DE ANDY, N1ORK..QTH Manchester, CT...QRZ..QRZ..
Hello anyone out there?
Is this thing on?
SkyWarn, CERT, EmComm
Andy N1ORK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.