Open Roads Radio forum for Ham, Amateur Radio and RV camping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2008, 08:28 PM   #1
KB5LJE
Senior Member
 
KB5LJE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 279
Default Need some help

Ok Radio is a Icom v8000 2meter and power supply is Astron 30m

Plug into any outlet in my trailer and then key the mic it cuts the AC compressor off.

hmmmmm

Any ideas?

My mind is not working this week due to the new work learning. Never had this problem in my old trailer. Would like to have 2-m at least in my new/temp home in Tupelo

On at the time of events
Loaded with fridge, water heater, AC and Television
Unloaded with NOTHING but radio and AC same results

Should I just go 12v from the battery?


Mike
KB5LJE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 08:38 PM   #2
Andy N1ORK
Senior Member
 
Andy N1ORK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manchester, CT
Posts: 1,034
Send a message via Yahoo to Andy N1ORK Send a message via Skype™ to Andy N1ORK
Default

Don't know either one of the units, but wild guess is Astron power supply is at fault. How much power are you running out of the Icom? Does just the AC compressor shut of or does the fan go off too? I suggest as you said, run off 12vdc, if ok, try another power supply or try lower power out of the rig. Is the antenna outside? Near the compressor? I never thought RF could affect a compressor, but you never know these days what with electronic controlers and such.
Good Luck!
Andy - n1ork
__________________
CQ..CQ..CQ..DE ANDY, N1ORK..QTH Manchester, CT...QRZ..QRZ..
Hello anyone out there?
Is this thing on?
SkyWarn, CERT, EmComm
Andy N1ORK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 09:21 PM   #3
w6pea
Senior Member
 
w6pea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chula Vista,Mexifornia
Posts: 176
Default

Mike
Try low power on the radio, I think it's RF. Try moving the antenna as far away from the AC as possible.
We are in luck, a friend who is a Ham and a Radio Tech on base called me,
I read him your post, he said it's more than likely RF affecting the AC unit. Try a lower power setting and move antenna as far away from the AC unit as possible.
73 de w6pea
__________________
"Semper Fi"
Politicians are a lot like diapers, They should be changed often, and for the same reason!
ARRL-VE SANDARC-VE Team Leader
When all else fails...Amateur Radio
w6pea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 08:38 AM   #4
One Country Boy
Senior Member
 
One Country Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wewahitchka, FL
Posts: 1,204
Default

I think that V8000 puts out about 75 watts. I would think it is RF getting into the AC system. Possibly into thermostat or wiring from thermostat to AC as well ? I've not experienced that problem.
__________________
Jim ~ W4EWA
One Country Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 11:51 AM   #5
AE5BI
Senior Member
 
AE5BI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
Posts: 104
Default

I don't know if this helps but I have a TS2000, same band and it is my Fridge that cuts out and alarms. I am 12V straight to the battery.
__________________
2000 Monaco Knight 36Z
- Kenwood TS-2000
- SG237 Tuner & Long Wire

2006 Jeep (X2)
- iCom IC-706MKIIG
- AH-4 Automatic Antenna Tuner to a 102" Radio Shack CB antenna

Guinness the cat

Full-timing Sep. 2006 - Sep. 2011

Our RV Website, www.FulltimeRV.us

73

AE5BI
AE5BI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 12:20 PM   #6
KB5LJE
Senior Member
 
KB5LJE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 279
Default

Ok good Suggestions and I will move the antenna to the outside and try that.

Its only the compressor that cuts off not the fan and I tried all 3 power settings on the radio.

So I will let everyone know what I find.

Mike
KB5LJE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 12:36 PM   #7
N7OQ
Senior Member
 
N7OQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yuba City, Ca
Posts: 302
Default

I'm not sure what antenna you are using but it could be RF coming down the out side of the caax, this is a problem I had with my Buddipole. Lots of clamp on rf chokes close to the feed fixed the problem also coiling the coax had the same effect.
__________________
73 de Bill, (N7OQ)
RV: 2006 Outback 23RS
USAF Retired, God Bless our Troops
Licensed in 1978 ex N7AFX, DA1VW, KK6GR
N7OQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 04:13 PM   #8
Radio
Administrator
 
Radio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA, USA
Posts: 2,926
Default

I would load up the air conditioner control lines with RFI protection (ferrite filters, ect) and any low voltage wiring under the ac cover, too. The radio system may be right but the AC thinks it's a receiver.
__________________

KU4OJ "Wade" Ships Captain, CFO, Chief Engineer
KG4DQQ "Kathy" 1st Officer, Navigator, Best Friend
2007 F-150 SuperCab - 2009 Rockwood 8280SS
Lot's of mostly Kenwood stuff

Radio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 08:46 PM   #9
KB5LJE
Senior Member
 
KB5LJE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 279
Default

I took my Diamond off the house today and mounted it to a Sat tripod I had here.

I will set it about 20 feet from the trailer and try that.

I was using a bad antenna setup with a mag mount 1/4 wave mobile I had on my first run.

Go back down tomorrow afternoon to prepare for back to work and first thing will be try the new setup. Also taking an (heavy) extension cord to run the power supply direct to the power poll just incase

Mike
KB5LJE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.