Open Roads Radio forum for Ham, Amateur Radio and RV camping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2011, 10:27 PM   #11
One Country Boy
Senior Member
 
One Country Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wewahitchka, FL
Posts: 1,204
Default

Simpson still makes several meters Wade. Click here.
__________________
Jim ~ W4EWA
One Country Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 06:34 AM   #12
kb0ou
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Joplin, MO
Posts: 8
Default

I have a 260 in my shop, use it a lot. There are a lot of applications that require a analog readout. I also have a fluke digital, I use it some.

Hey, I also have a AL-1200 in my shack, every shack should have one!!!
kb0ou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:11 AM   #13
TXiceman
Senior Member
 
TXiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Near Houston, TX
Posts: 553
Default

I have a small cheaper analog meter on the trailer as well as a digital meter. Sometimes only an analog will wserve my needs.

Ken
__________________
KE5DFR
2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB, 2012 F350 Dually crew cab, 6.7L,
Mobile- Yaesu FT857D w/ Lil' Tarheel II antenna and Larsen dual bander, Turbo Tuner.
Base unit...Kenwood TS480HX, LDG AT200 Pro tuner, Eagle One Vertical and Windom 80 meter dipole.
Standard Schnauzer..her call is K9WOOF
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:30 AM   #14
NN5I
Carl, nn5i
 
NN5I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,377
Default

I used the 260 and its almost identical brother the 260NS (higher impedance, and more expensive) for many years. That, and a Tektronix 454 scope, were all I needed as a design engineer nearly all of the time.

I now own a Tek 475A, better in all ways than the 454, and much faster, and a Tek multimeter; but I wish I had a 260 too.

The autoranging in my nice modern Tek TX3 multimeter, though, has saved me from some missteps that might have fried a 260. Even in the TX3, I once blew a very expensive fuse by trying to measure the voltage of a car battery while set to measure current. That certainly would have destroyed a 260; in the Tek it only blew a $30 fuse.

Getting old has made me stupid.

Edit: I just looked on eBay and there are many 260s listed at reasonable prices, but no 260NSs.

Additional edit: I've confused the Simpson 260 and the Triplett 630. It's the 630 that has the more-expensive brother, 630NS. Old age really has made me stupid.
__________________
-- Carl
NN5I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 01:04 PM   #15
TXiceman
Senior Member
 
TXiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Near Houston, TX
Posts: 553
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NN5I View Post
Old age really has made me stupid.
Kinda' makes you wonder how much worse it can get....

Is there a limit on aging stupidity? I am still waiting to hit rock bottom.

Ken
__________________
KE5DFR
2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB, 2012 F350 Dually crew cab, 6.7L,
Mobile- Yaesu FT857D w/ Lil' Tarheel II antenna and Larsen dual bander, Turbo Tuner.
Base unit...Kenwood TS480HX, LDG AT200 Pro tuner, Eagle One Vertical and Windom 80 meter dipole.
Standard Schnauzer..her call is K9WOOF
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 06:13 AM   #16
W9WLS
Senior Blame Catcher
 
W9WLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oakland City Ind.
Posts: 265
Send a message via Yahoo to W9WLS
Default

RCA Senior Volt Omist still on the bench, Trip 630 on the shelf and a Radio Shaft FET analog .
Several DMM's around (mostly FLUKE & one Radio Shaft ).
DMM's don't seem to show "FLUTTER" (like AC floating along on a DC circuit) very well , if at all.
And yes , I have the display on the 7600 set to the analog (look-a-like) meter and an analog 0-5 vdc plugged into the remote meter output also.
I'm an "OLD FART" , get over it !
__________________
DE: John W9WLS
W9WLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 08:15 AM   #17
NN5I
Carl, nn5i
 
NN5I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,377
Default

My Tektronix DMM doesn't flutter, but it will show DC and AC components independently, which is useful when I suspect ripple; and it also (simultaneously!) shows the frequency, which is wonderful when I'm trying to figure out whether my generator is running right. A couple months ago I thought it wasn't, and the Tek showed 49 hertz instead of its normal 61 or so. Replaced the generator's air filter and all was well. But I still love those Simpsons and Tripletts.
__________________
-- Carl
NN5I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 09:00 AM   #18
wa8yxm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mobile, on the road
Posts: 1,138
Send a message via AIM to wa8yxm Send a message via Yahoo to wa8yxm Send a message via Skype™ to wa8yxm
Default

I use both digital and analog meters... You are right, sometimes the analog is best (other times Digital is) I really liked my RCA VTVM though.
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 03:16 PM   #19
N3LYT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 666
Default

Best of both worlds. I had a Simpson and I think a Heath kit with Nixie tubes.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1832 (683x1024).jpg (29.3 KB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1833 (683x1024).jpg (28.6 KB, 29 views)
N3LYT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.