PDA

View Full Version : Greetings All

Rvdreaming
03-16-2008, 11:19 PM
I'm pretty new at both RVing and Amateur Radio. RVing since 2003 & Amateur Radio since 2006 so I've got a lot of dues to pay and even more to learn about both of them. I do operate APRS in my daily driver and the motorhome when on the road. I have attempted to operate 40 & 80 meters while camped using hamsticks with limited success so I'll just call my attempts thus far a work in progress!

Kirk
N5WKM

KF5F
03-17-2008, 01:39 AM
Operating HF radios is easy....

Getting GOOD mobile antennas is more of a challenge. I am in that stage myself. Good luck.

Andy N1ORK
03-17-2008, 06:48 AM
Welcome aboard Kirk!
Hope you enjoy this site as much as I do. Been there with the 'Ham Sticks' and like you found limited success. I got much better results with 'Ham Stick' di-poles mounted on a 23' painter's pole by the back door of our Zinger camper. This allows me to open the door and use the 'Armstrong' rotator to turn the dipole as needed. Since the camper is semi permanent, have put up a G5RVjr in the trees and the results are even better.
Good Luck and 73!
Andy

w7wv
03-17-2008, 05:16 PM
I went through that recently myself.
After determining that going full time was not going to allow me a tower and beam I settled for a 102" whip and tuner.
I'll add more wire to it should I need it.
This may not be the best setup but it does seem to work very well as installed.

Radio
03-17-2008, 08:05 PM
I'm pretty new at both RVing and Amateur Radio.

Kirk
N5WKM

Good! We need some newbies to ask the questions for all the old geezers to answer. Jump right in and join the frey!

k3mp
03-18-2008, 04:03 PM