PDA

View Full Version : getting the feedline into the MH?

k8zfj
11-06-2008, 11:28 AM
Hi all,

I'm new to RV'ing, but not hamming and was wondering how some of you get the antenna feedline into the RV w/o being too obvious?
I imagine ther would be hours/days of local qrm if the xyl saw me drilling holes in the new class C.

Thanks,
Randy
k8zfj/qrp

Radio
11-06-2008, 11:36 AM
No holes?

Then you might not like this solution...

http://www.openroadsradio.net/forums/showthread.php?t=369

:radio:

k8zfj
11-06-2008, 11:43 AM
why didnt i think of that !
you came up thru the floor where its less likely for xyl to notice....time for me to crawl underneath & do some investigating.
thanks !

Radio
11-06-2008, 12:10 PM
why didnt i think of that !
you came up thru the floor where its less likely for xyl to notice....time for me to crawl underneath & do some investigating.
thanks !

Not only through the floor, but behind a cabinet door. Then I put the "computer desk" feed through in the cabinet panelling so I can operate with the cabinet door closed.

My xyl likes it. :)

k8zfj
11-06-2008, 01:42 PM
thanks for the ideas Wade...cant wait for a dry day to go exploring beneath the MH

wa8yxm
11-06-2008, 05:18 PM
I use two routes.. One is up through the floor inside a cabinet right next to where Damon ran some other wires up into the same cabinet.. The other is out via a "Stove" type vent which is also "out of sight" inside the rig.. On the outside it looks just like a stove vent-hood vent (Which it is) That is for antennas I put up and take down

I paid a lot of attention to where I ran the cables.. When I get around to a couple of roof mounts they are going up a wall and out existing openings as much as possible. All hidden

K3NOQ/Mobile
11-08-2008, 09:06 AM