PDA

View Full Version : Let's here what your running in your rigs!


N9MXX
11-29-2007, 09:42 PM
xxx

TXiceman
11-29-2007, 10:32 PM
Well, I am still land based and have a Kenwood TS830S Gold with a Turner antenna tuner, Hustler 6 band ground mounted vertical with 12 radials, a Carolina Windom 80 dipole for the house. My truck has a Icom 208H dual bander with a Larsen dual band antenna on the front fender.

I am still looking for a good mobile HF rig and then figure out an antenna system...Looking at the Icom 7000 and a Tarheel screw driver....but need to see how much is in the cookie jar.

Then I need to rig up a portable antenna for the RV.

73's Ken
KE5DFR

N7OQ
11-29-2007, 10:47 PM
Well I run 2 radios in my rig, I have a IC-706mkiig connected to a Icom AH-4 antenna tuner loading a 102" whip. It will load 80 meters to 10 meters but I don't think it is any good on 80 but works great on the other bands. When I'm not using it for HF I have it parked on 146.52. I also have a Kenwood tm-D700 connected to a Garmin hockey puck GPS unit and run APRS and I used the other band for repeaters. Once I get to the Campground I move the 706 into the trailer and use a Buddipole antenna.
73

Richard Stouffer
11-30-2007, 07:37 AM
When parked I have 35 foot wire out of an AH-4 hanging from MFJ's 33 foot fiberglass mast. It's held to the ladder with a flag pole mount I found on the internet. The coax (213) runs from the dinette slide through the raceway with the other utilities and then through the frame to the engine compartment (it's a dp). I've grounded the radio to the inverter's ground buss and the antenna to the motor home's frame. That hasn't worked out too well and I have tripped the GFI a couple of time in the motor home.

I usually run an Icom 7000 in the RV if we are parked for more than a couple of days because it's what I use in my toad and it is a pain to move it If were are only camping for two or three days I use a 706 Mk II.

Overall the performance has been mediocre at best. The only exception was when parked at Dellanera RV Park on the beach in Galveston. I got some great 20 meter contacts on that set up.

I have got to do some experiment with the grounding for both DC and RF. Iíll be in Florida over Christmas and plan to spend some time working on it.

I would really like to hear what others have done with regard to grounding.

By the way, one habit I've gotten into to avoid starting a riot at the camp is to put up my TV's bow tie antenna, turn on the TV antenna booster and key the transceiver to see if I get any TVI.

N9MXX
11-30-2007, 07:56 AM
xxx

Richard Stouffer
11-30-2007, 09:19 AM
Before I drive a cu rod I'm going to try the water pipe. I'll end up with too much cable, probably 10 to 12 feet at most camps, but I'm running my DC ground that far now to get to the inverterís ground buss. I am using braided strap for the DC. I use the shield from 213 coax and it seems to work pretty well and it's a lot more flexible than stranded 8 gauge or larger wire.

Regarding your the "air inductor" I read an article somewhere a couple of weeks ago about eliminating feedback through the coax shield. The author recommended 12 turns of coax around a 4 1/2 inch diameter PVC pipe at the base on the antenna. I've built one and use it on the base station. It eliminated some problems I was having here with feedback when running my 500 watt amp. I'm going to take it with me on the next trip and see if it makes a difference.

Between now and the next RV trip Iíll be trying to figure out why my next door neighbor is hearing faint conversations on his TV.

AE5BI
11-30-2007, 04:44 PM
TS2000 to an Astatic AST 6BTV HF Portable Antenna 4 band (10, 15, 20 & 40 or 80 meter)

In my Wrangler I run a IC706 ACH4 and a whip.

N5IIG
11-30-2007, 04:51 PM
I am running a ICOM MK IIG through a LDG Auto Tuner to a quick disconnect on top of my ladder. I have most Ham Sticks and Hustler resonaters for all bands. I also have a long wire for 75 Mtrs that I use when trees are available to tie to. My ladder is grounded to the coach frame. I also use a ICOM power supply to power the rig. I have never had any problems with TVI or any other kind of interference. I have satelite TV and regular over the air TV from batwing antenna. Maybe I am just lucky - I don't know. TVI and stray RF are STRANGE to say the least. Good luck and travel safe...........Jim

MomnDadHams
12-10-2007, 12:27 PM
We are new to ham but not to rv'ing. If camping with W/E hookup it would seem a good ground can be had with a jumper with large alligators on the ends and go from frame to water pipe. Bolting a piece of stainless to the frame and clamping to it for a good connection would be a plus....heck just a 1/2" SS bolt "double nutted" through the frame would be a simple connection. A ground rod can be used when dry camping.

I'm just using a Yaesu 8800 right now. Going for general soon...then a new radio????

Input please

Mike

Richard Stouffer
12-10-2007, 05:54 PM
When I upgraded to general I look very seriously at the Icom 756 Pro III, I had the 706 MKII at the time. The price was a bit high, but the performance seemed top of the line. Then I read a product reveiw in, I think, the April 2005 QST of the Flex-Radio SDR-1000. I did some additonal research and decided that was the rig for my base station. I've had that unit for a little over two years and I've since moved on to the Flex-Radio SDR-5000A. SDR is not for everyone, especially if you don't like messing around with computers. I wouldn't use it for a mobile unit and, although I've done it, it isn't my first choice a station in the RV.

If you want to try a more economical approach, there are used Icom 706 MKII's out there for sale because a lot of the early adapters have upgraded to the Icom 7000. I still have both the 706 and the 7000 and wouldn't part with either one. They are great mobiles and decent base stations. Although the 7000 has some really neat features over the 706, I think they each perform equally well. Check eBay of used 706's.

73's

w6pea
12-23-2007, 01:27 PM
In my pick up I use a IC706MKII w/ACH4 and a steel whip. Works great.
In my RV I am looking at putting in a IC706MKII and maybe a High Sierra Antenna, Not sure which one to go with. But there is a lot of time to look around.

wa8yxm
12-23-2007, 02:35 PM
Right now, an Onan Emerald Gold 5500, Detroit Edison flaked out and the house is on E-Power, Thankfully I added a heavy duty (30 amp dual line) outlet to the MH and a matching inlet and generator transfer panel to the house.

Normally, Towed Yesau FT-51R with Mirage 35 watt "Brick"
Motor home in motion: Kenwood TM-733, both of these feed a Diamond dual band (2mtr 70cm) NO ground plane antenna

Motor home parked Kenwood TS-2000, feeding an assortment of long wires via a KAT-1 Tuner, and an assortment of home brew antennas depending on the band, including one 80 mtr dipole, I'm still working on my porcupine quills, ur, antennas.

I'm hoping to make it so I can use the TS-200 on 52.525 mobile too, by using a wireless mic on it. (Motorola HT)

TallBrad
12-25-2007, 01:39 AM
I run a Yaesu FT-7900 dual bander and an Icom IC-718. Antennas are a Diamond base unit dual bander and a Hi-Q 3-80 with a 102" whip. [B]oth are mounted to the top of the roof access ladder with homemade angle iron brackets. The dual bander attaches with wingnuts and lays upside down next to the ladder for travel. The Hi-Q gets threaded on and off its 3/8 mount stud, and has a 12 turn shunt matching coil....tuned with a simple DPDT reversing switch. Loads all abnds 80-10 with excxellant performance on all bands. The base of the ladder is grounded to the trailer frame with a 4" length on 1" wide braided grounding strap.

Brad, N7NWL

KD4AO
12-25-2007, 09:02 AM
In my MoHo I have an Icom IC-2720H VHF/UHF connected to an MFJ Glass mount dual band antenna. The rig is most of the time on 146.52 and tuner 2 on 162.55 or other weather channel. I also have an Icom IC-706mkii HF and AH-4 Tuner, and if I ever get a round-to-it, they will become operational. I don't much care for underway QSO's, at least not HF while driving the MoHo, it requires full attention if you know what I mean. Eight and a half feet wide plus 8 inches of mirror on each side, on a 9 or hopefully 10 foot lane, I'm 2 handing it.

Andy N1ORK
01-11-2008, 09:00 PM
We have a 32' Crossroads Zinger parked in Freedom, NH. I use the back bedroom for my shack because it has its own back door and lots of shelf space. I run an Yeasu ft857d into an LDG Z100 tuner. I use a laptop for logging and digital work. The antennas are a g5rv jr. and a 2m/70cm j-pole. This summer I plan to use a 30' telescoping mast for a 4el 2m and a 3el 6m beam. A rotator is possible if I can find a used Channel Master some where.
Hope to work some of you from the portable QTH!

w7wv
01-23-2008, 08:54 AM
I just ordered my equipment.
I went with a Yaesu FT-897D, the AH-4 Tuner by ICOM, and a 102" whip mounted high on the MH.
I have to interface the ICOM AH-4 but that's not a problem using the Better RF interface. It fools the radio into thinking the AH-4 is a Yaesu tuner.
I had this same setup in a truck when I towed our large 39' 5th wheel a few years back and it worked well.
I can also clip extra wire to the stainless steel whip and toss it to the trees if I need more antenna for more bands.

jagco
01-23-2008, 09:21 PM
I can also clip extra wire to the stainless steel whip and toss it to the trees if I need more antenna for more bands.

Now, why didn't I think of that?? :think:

KE5NWT
01-24-2008, 09:43 AM
Well I thought I had already replied to this thread, but I dont see it so....
I have a Yaesu FT-7800 dual band in the truck (that pulls the fiver). I have a Yaesu FT-1802 2 meter at the house with a Hustler verticle antenna at 65 feet. Also at the house is a HF rig that is a Yaesu FT-77. It covers 10m to 80 meters (skips 60 meters). It was made in the mid 80's. It's antenna is a SGC SG-103 folded wire dipole 90+/- feet long at about 40 feet high. That antenna requires no tuner on 10m to 80m bands. I've talked all over the planet with that radio / antenna at 100 watts.

I need another dual bander for another vehicle and then some radios in the fiver someday.

wa8yxm
01-25-2008, 09:45 AM
Motor home: Driver's seat Kenwood TM-733 Dual bander feeding Diamond Dual bander mounted on mirror, Pair of CB's one Radio Shack one Cobra (13 and 19)

"Other seat" (Ham shack) TS-2000 feeding mostly long wire antennas and assorted VHF antennas Some day I'll rig the TS-2000 so I can run it on 6-FM half-remote but not yet

Towed Yeasu FT-51R , 35 watt "Brick"and another Diamond dual bander

w7wv
01-26-2008, 02:00 PM
You can see my install in progress under Rag Chew that I just posted.
I even put up a pix of the mess, so far.
And jagco, I got the idea of adding wire looking at the instructions to the AH-4 tuner.
I did this before in my truck that I towed my 39' 5th wheel with and ran an IC-706 at that time. It does work well.

W3LBS
01-27-2008, 11:18 PM
I am running an Icom IC-7000 in the motorhome and an AH4 tuner located inside the body near the ladder on the rear of the motorhome. While on the road I'm using a 102" whip mounted to the ladder and while parked I use a 31' fiberglass mast and attach a wire to the top which gives me about a 32.5 foot length of wire from the tuner. The radio will tune from 80 mtrs to 6 mtrs on both antennas. I also have some other random length wire antennas which I attach to a quick disconnect and throw a wire into a tree or whatever. I use a glass mounted dual band antenna for 2 mtrs and 70 cm. which is not great but works OK.
In the towed I also use a IC-7000 with an AH4 tuner mounted in the left rear wheel well and feeding a 102" whip for hf which will tune 80 mtrs thru 6 mtrs and a mag mount Diamond dual band antenna for 2 mtrs and 70 cm.

Richard Stouffer
01-28-2008, 06:13 AM
Leroy, how have you grounded the antenna? I think I have an almost identical set up and the ground out of the AH-4 is to the frame on the DP. I get bouts of RFI off and on, ocassionally triping the GFI, that I have not been able to track down. The radio, also a 7000, is grounded to the same ground as the inverter, but the length of the grounding strap is about 10 feet or so.

Next time out I'm going to take a four foor copper stake along and drive it into the ground as close as possible to the widow and run the radio's ground to it.

w7wv
01-28-2008, 08:27 AM
You don't ground the antenna!
Using the AH-4 the tuner is grounded.

W3LBS
01-28-2008, 07:27 PM
The only grounding I have done is a very short piece of braid to a good ground. One of the things I had to do was separate the control cable and the coax to the AH4, there was some interaction causing the radio to shut down on some rf peaks. I also have the radio grounded as short as possible.

Richard Stouffer
01-29-2008, 05:27 AM
Good point and I'm glad I asked. When my dealer ran the coax and controller cabled he bound them together with tie wraps- sure looks neat, but I guess that could be a real problem.

Also, I'm durious about where you ground the AH-4 Leroy (and forgive me Ken for using the word "antenna" instead of "tuner" in my earlier post). I've attached it to the frame. Next time out I'll try stringing another cable outside the RV and ground the tuner to a stake,or other appropriate ground.

73's
Richard, WU5K

W3LBS
01-29-2008, 06:41 PM
Richard, I have a power steering reservoir mounted near the AH4 with some heavy metal to the frame. I grounded the AH4 to a bolt on some of that metal work. The ground braid is only about 10" long. Maybe I just got lucky but it all worked for me and the tuner will tune 80 meters thru 6 meters.

Richard Stouffer
01-29-2008, 09:07 PM
Neat idea. I'll have to take a peek around the engine compartment and see if I have anything like that.

73's
Richard, WU5K

W4SNK
01-31-2008, 04:44 PM
Per signature below:

k3mp
02-12-2008, 11:36 AM
Running an Icom 706 (original), LDG Z-100 tuner, into a Comet UHV-6 mounted on the roof rack or I set up a Maldol HVU-8 on an 8 ft mast...that is what I use when I travel...when I am at my campsite in the Pocono Mountains, same rig and tuner, but hook up to a Cushcraft R5 and a 40/80 dipole by HyPower Ant Co... everything works great for me...I also have a Saratoga PSK unit to run psk, rtty and sstv

emu
03-02-2008, 04:34 PM
Until I retire and move back to America, I only have a Hawaiian-style RV. That's a small Japanese pickup truck with a cooler full of beer in the back. Only the antennas and a cheap used dual-band rig stay in the truck permanently because of theft issues. Truck has two 80 amp/hour deep-cycle batteries, both for starting the engine and running the radios parked, fed to the radios through a RigRunner DC distribution panel. Rig is an IC-706IIG or IC-7000, feeding Iron Horse sticks mag-mounted on the truck roof or an Outbacker Outreach 500 mounted there or on a tripod. For digital modes, there's a Jotto Desk on the passenger side to hold a laptop and interface box. HF rig is placed between the seats, mounted on a plastic cutting board, with control head facing up. All HF operation is while parked within 30 feet of seawater. This is the standard M.O. here for many hams because of widespread restrictions on antennas at homes. The big blue ground plane allows worldwide QSOs from inadequate antennas and 50 to 100 watts. Internet access (for callsign lookups and DX spots) is from a ClearWire modem on the truck roof with a folded beach towel over it for protection from the sun. Funky way to operate, but it gets me on the air.

Radio
03-02-2008, 08:50 PM
Hey emu...post some pics of your porable outfit!

and :welcome: to ORR.net

W4PHJ
07-07-2008, 01:18 PM
ICOM 706MKllG and a High Sierra Platinum Pro Plus 1800 on the rear ladder.

k3mp
07-07-2008, 08:28 PM
This is what I operated on field day...an Icom 706, bencher paddles, LDZ 100 tuner, an R5 Cushcraft for 10-15-20 and a 40/80 Dipole...simple and straight forward :radio:

W6CD
07-08-2011, 12:45 AM
Kenwood TS480AT - ~28' high fiberglass mast attached to rear ladder - wire antenna.