Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Open Roads Radio forum for Ham, Amateur Radio and RV camping

Old 02-28-2018, 08:24 AM   #1
Frankmj452

Default New to RV but not to ham radio

Hi, new to rv camping. Been a ham since 1989 and hold a General license. My call is KB0EOR. Interested in voice and digital modes.Equipment is Icom-718, ldg tuner, CT-17, Signallink USB+1 into a desktop pc or laptop.
Frankmj452 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 07:17 PM   #2
electricflyer

Welcome to the ORR forum. A very casual group of guys. I see you live in Council Bluffs. I grew up in SW Iowa and lived in CB for about 30 years before moving to Dayton,Ohio (18 years) and now in NW Atlanta (21 years), about 25 miles from downtown. I graduated from ALHS (the old one) 62 years ago. Perhaps you know my BIL, Greg (W0LGQ), he has his fathers old call sign. He lives east of Crescent on Badger Avenue on one of the highest hills around. From his living room he can see about 40 miles to the west and from the top of one of his towers (2 of them) you could probably see that far to the east. If you are out driving around out there you can't miss his house. He has a concrete drive way about 1/4 mile long. He has quite an antenna farm. He and his wife both retired from IWCC so stop by and tell him you met KT4W (it's Iowa, you can do that). What do you have for an RV? A MH or TT?
Marv
KT4W
2014 Palomino Puma 25RL - TV 2011 F-150 SuperCrew 5.0
electricflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 08:36 PM   #3
Frankmj452

Just bought a 2017 Heartland Pioneer BH250. If I get a chance I might look up your BIL. I have been living in CAB 17 years prior to that I lived in Bellevue since 1975 until 2001 but 1 Year of that I lived in England when the Air Force sent me there.