Open Roads Radio forum for Ham, Amateur Radio and RV camping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2008, 08:40 PM   #1
jagco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Southwest, Illinois
Posts: 311
Default Low Audio

This isn't really an antenna question, although we did put up a dual band j-pole, today. I've had my Yaesu FT-5100 sitting out in the garage (on bench) for a few years. We hooked it up to the antenna, today, and I'm told I have almost no audio. My SWR and wattage read fine on the meter and they said I have a great signal, just very little audio. Any ideas what the problem might be?
jagco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 08:48 PM   #2
N7OQ
Senior Member
 
N7OQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yuba City, Ca
Posts: 304
Default

I'd change microphones and see if that helps.
__________________
73 de Bill, (N7OQ)
RV: 2006 Outback 23RS
USAF Retired, God Bless our Troops
Licensed in 1978 ex N7AFX, DA1VW, KK6GR
N7OQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 06:28 AM   #3
Radio
Administrator
 
Radio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA, USA
Posts: 3,017
Default

Moved to Black Box Forum

Old fashioned carbon mics would sometimes get low output, and the ops would bang them sharply on the radio table to knock the carbon particles loose again.

It can only be one of two things...the radio or the mic. As Bill suggested, try another mic. Or take the mic apart and see whats loose or dirty. Maybe a spider moved in there and made a nest on your element!!

Radio
Radio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 03:57 PM   #4
jagco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Southwest, Illinois
Posts: 311
Default

Thanks for the suggestions, guys. I don't have a mic wired for Yaesu, at the moment, so I just installed a different radio. I will just have to do without UHF for the time being. I can check around and see if anybody has a mic wired for Yaesu.

Thanks. 73
Jeff
jagco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 01:01 PM   #5
wa8yxm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mobile, on the road
Posts: 1,139
Send a message via AIM to wa8yxm Send a message via Yahoo to wa8yxm Send a message via Skype™ to wa8yxm
Default

What do you have wired for you Yesau? If your computer sound card is wired in you can use it as your MIC. T/R is a bit tricky but you can write a fairly easy program to do that and if your computer has the ability you can taylor your audio rather well on the side.

Also, I have a couple mics wired for Yesau, only it's for the FT-51R, and I don't think that's what you need
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 04:13 PM   #6
jagco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Southwest, Illinois
Posts: 311
Default

I don't have a mic, of any sort, for the computer. I would like to get one, so I can try out Echolink, though. We have a hamfest coming up this month. Maybe I can find a mic for the Yaesu and one for the computer, to.
jagco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 07:14 PM   #7
N7OQ
Senior Member
 
N7OQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yuba City, Ca
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jagco View Post
I don't have a mic, of any sort, for the computer. I would like to get one, so I can try out Echolink, though. We have a hamfest coming up this month. Maybe I can find a mic for the Yaesu and one for the computer, to.
I tried a mic I had for echolink and the audio was to low so I bought a computer mic/headset and the audio was still to low so I was going to make a preamp when it hit me I have Bluetooth in my Laptop and I had a bluetooth headset for my Cell phone so I tried it with the computer. The computer found it as a audio device so I loaded Echolink and it worked like a champ much better audio, I now have to turn down the gain and I'm able to receive the audio back from the computer. So I can do Echolink with out the wires, able to move around the shack and stay connected.
__________________
73 de Bill, (N7OQ)
RV: 2006 Outback 23RS
USAF Retired, God Bless our Troops
Licensed in 1978 ex N7AFX, DA1VW, KK6GR
N7OQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×