Open Roads Radio forum for Ham, Amateur Radio and RV camping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2008, 12:03 AM   #1
w6pea
Senior Member
 
w6pea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chula Vista,Mexifornia
Posts: 176
Default High Sierra Antennas

Okay.
I bit the bullet and purchased a new High Sierra Sidekick. I also bought the tripod set up for it.
Want to be able to use it at the home QTH and in the RV

Any one ever use one. And have any suggestions?
I can set it up on my balcony and then take it down and take it with us when we travel.
I am chomping at the bit to set it up and use it. So I have a project to get at and get on the air asap.
__________________
"Semper Fi"
Politicians are a lot like diapers, They should be changed often, and for the same reason!
ARRL-VE SANDARC-VE Team Leader
When all else fails...Amateur Radio
w6pea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 06:20 AM   #2
AE5BI
Senior Member
 
AE5BI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
Posts: 104
Default

Ever worry about the radiation pattern in an RV campground if it is on a Tripod?
__________________
2000 Monaco Knight 36Z
- Kenwood TS-2000
- SG237 Tuner & Long Wire

2006 Jeep (X2)
- iCom IC-706MKIIG
- AH-4 Automatic Antenna Tuner to a 102" Radio Shack CB antenna

Guinness the cat

Full-timing Sep. 2006 - Sep. 2011

Our RV Website, www.FulltimeRV.us

73

AE5BI
AE5BI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 07:34 AM   #3
Radio
Administrator
 
Radio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA, USA
Posts: 3,017
Default

Put the tripod on the roof of the RV? That should help with exposure issues, curious kids and might even get out a bit better.

(With pads under the feet to protect the RV roof)

Radio
Radio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 11:54 AM   #4
radiow6lar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 44
Default Sidekick

I use the Sidekick on my TV. I originally placed it at the top of the rear driver's side door on my Supercab. Worked ok. Then I bought the extension tube and its mounted at the rear driver side of the bed. Works a little better and a bit more quiet on RX.

At 100W I would not worry too much but keep it away from any nosey kids.
Why not pick a simple mount for the rear ladder of your RV? Keep the tripod for when no one is around. I've got the 1800 High Sierra for my RV ladder.
__________________
Larry, W6LAR and Helen, KF6CHG
Me, Retired May 2009.
Helen, retired Aug 2009
2004 F-150 XL Supercab HD
2006 Aljo 225LT, Solar Powered
Me: 43 1/2 years GTE (Verizon)
Wife: RN and 45 years putting up with Me!

CQ CQ CQ Ain't life Grand!
radiow6lar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 05:22 PM   #5
w6pea
Senior Member
 
w6pea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chula Vista,Mexifornia
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radiow6lar View Post
I use the Sidekick on my TV. I originally placed it at the top of the rear driver's side door on my Supercab. Worked ok. Then I bought the extension tube and its mounted at the rear driver side of the bed. Works a little better and a bit more quiet on RX.

At 100W I would not worry too much but keep it away from any nosey kids.
Why not pick a simple mount for the rear ladder of your RV? Keep the tripod for when no one is around. I've got the 1800 High Sierra for my RV ladder.

What extension tube?
Better go to the H/S wbsite.
__________________
"Semper Fi"
Politicians are a lot like diapers, They should be changed often, and for the same reason!
ARRL-VE SANDARC-VE Team Leader
When all else fails...Amateur Radio
w6pea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 03:00 PM   #6
w7wv
Senior Member
 
w7wv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SE AZ
Posts: 239
Default

Not the Sidekick but I did have an HS-1500 on my roof in a restricted area at one point.
High Sierra recommends 8 each 10' radios and sells this kit http://www.hamcq.com/index.php?act=v...d&productId=72

Make your own, it's cheaper needless to say. I am not sure about the Sidekick but I also remember having to remove something from my antenna on the base, a coil I think. It's been several years now.
High Sierra will tell you via email if you don't have this in your manual.
How good was it? I would rate it as fair to good.
It worked better on the car and trucks I had it on.
Oh, and a hint, I used a very inexpensive extension cord, outdoor rated, for the control wiring to the roof. Cheap, you bet.
And just a warning, if I remember right they get $75 for the extension tubes.
w7wv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 12:57 AM   #7
w6pea
Senior Member
 
w6pea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chula Vista,Mexifornia
Posts: 176
Default High Sierra Antennas

Well I got my antenna mounted on my balcony works great. Now the next trip we take I am going to set it up.
__________________
"Semper Fi"
Politicians are a lot like diapers, They should be changed often, and for the same reason!
ARRL-VE SANDARC-VE Team Leader
When all else fails...Amateur Radio
w6pea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 06:00 PM   #8
VE6AGE
Denis Gagnon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medicine Hat, Alberta CANADA
Posts: 10
Default

There has been a lot of changes in regards to my amateur radio shack and location.
Both of my HS-1800/Pros have been sold.
VE6AGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Falls State Park, Georgia Radio Trip Report 2 08-20-2008 08:39 PM
How many antennas on your rig? w7wv Rag Chew 6 05-15-2008 07:49 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×