Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
Open Roads Radio forum for Ham, Amateur Radio and RV camping


View Poll Results: Have you ever had a problem with RFI in a campground?
Never 7 50.00%
Yes, but only in my own RV 5 35.71%
Yes, in a neighbors RV 2 14.29%
Voters: 14. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2008, 08:16 AM   #1
Radio
Administrator
 
Radio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA, USA
Posts: 3,017
Default RFI in the Campground

Have you ever had a complaint about creating RFI in a campground?
__________________

KU4OJ "Wade" Ships Captain, CFO, Chief Engineer
KG4DQQ "Kathy" 1st Officer, Navigator, Best Friend
2007 F-150 SuperCab - 2009 Rockwood 8280SS
Lot's of mostly Kenwood stuff

Radio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 05:20 PM   #2
wa8yxm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mobile, on the road
Posts: 1,139
Send a message via AIM to wa8yxm Send a message via Yahoo to wa8yxm Send a message via Skype™ to wa8yxm
Default

The closest I've had to RFI is a small hand held TV that I have.. IT got messed up a bit if I'm in a weak signal area.. If I'm on cable or even the Batwing.. .. No problem
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 06:11 AM   #3
One Country Boy
Senior Member
 
One Country Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wewahitchka, FL
Posts: 1,204
Default

My XYL notices occassionally when I'm on 75 meters I create some RFI through the surround sound system. No interference with the television video, jut some crackle in the audio.

Never had any complaints from my neighbors.



__________________
Jim ~ W4EWA
One Country Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 09:02 AM   #4
K3NOQ/Mobile
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Full Time RV'er, anywhere USA, usually Canyon Lake Tx in winter, SoPark Co. CO. in summer
Posts: 56
Default

I have been known to create rfi into computer system speakers in nearby rigs. Apparently many of the cheap speaker systems sold for computer use, and some of the sound systems provided in RV's are very suscepitble to RFI. Liberal use of RF chokes etc will help some, but in many cases it is simply a matter of proximity to antennas and feedlines to on board wiring.
__________________
'73 John

2K Winnebago Adventurer 35U
Icom 7000 w/ Lil' Tarheel, Comet B250,6 Mtr Squalo
4wd Chevy Tracker w/FT7800 & TS-60
Fulltimer-Ret'd 2-Way & Brdcst tech.
APCO - OFWA - SKP's - MSP
K3NOQ/Mobile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 08:40 AM   #5
Richard Stouffer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 188
Default

I haven't had any complaints yet. Just to be on the safe side though, I put the batwing up and turn on the antenna booster then put out a test transmission.

I figure if I'm not getting any on mine TV, I'm probably not going to cause anyone else any problems.
Richard Stouffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:32 AM   #6
Vette Racer
Junior Member
 
Vette Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 24
Default

Well, I will admit to one instance of it happening. I put a J pole up in a tree for two meters but it swung so that it was pointing down as it was hanging there and when I loaded the coax with RF I had RF in the trailer big time. Needless to say, that experiment didn't last long and I didn't go looking/asking for interference from the neighbors.
__________________
Tom
KE5NCP
Vette Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 12:35 PM   #7
KC1BUD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Gateway to the thumb
Posts: 243
Default

My problem isn't RFI induced by the radio, but instead I have a problem with Hum on my ac. When tuning the radio I can hear it at 160 meters all the way to 6 meters. I can only recieve strong signals. The same goes for commercial am. I purchased a plug in the wall FM intercom system and all I get on it is Hum. Sometimes after it has been raining It gets so bad I can pick it up on 2 meters in my truck if I pull up close to the house. I know I can call the power company but a lot of people around here say good luck on getting them to do anything.

Does anyone know where I can get a whole house conditioner?
__________________
Dan,
Almost a Marine (Army/Navy)
15 months in VietNam (12 Army/3 Navy)
Love to
KC1BUD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 11:29 PM   #8
KC1BUD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Gateway to the thumb
Posts: 243
Default RFI at home

Had the power company out, their end checks ok.
__________________
Dan,
Almost a Marine (Army/Navy)
15 months in VietNam (12 Army/3 Navy)
Love to
KC1BUD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Campground reservations w6pea Rag Chew 3 03-26-2008 12:13 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×