Open Roads Radio forum for Ham, Amateur Radio and RV camping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2013, 03:07 AM   #1
kb0ou
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Joplin, MO
Posts: 8
Default Old Fart

Yes, I am a Newb on this here FORUM
But I have been around, as the old song goes.
Please handle me carefully, I may be FRAGILE

I just purchased a 1997 Southwind 35P motorhome and am trying to make it RADIOACTIVE so to speak.
Any and all help will be appreciated.
Looking at using a FT-8800 for VHF/UHF FM and my IC-706 for HF and VHF SSB.

73
John kb0ou
kb0ou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 05:10 AM   #2
KF5BET
Senior Member
 
KF5BET's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 507
Default

Good morning John

Welcome to the site! Glad you found us. Bunch of great folks on here and lots of help too. Lots of information here (just have to dig a little deep with the search function).

My recollection is that the two main things people ask about on here is grounding and antennas. Lots of advice and helpful information dealing with both.

Hope you enjoy your stay and please visit often.

Galen
__________________
Galen - KF5BET
Crysti - "the CHIEF"
Abbi - KF5BEW dd
Kendra - KF5FYS dd
Maggie - Cat chaser
2005 F250, 1996 Nomad
KF5BET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 06:41 AM   #3
W9WLS
Senior Blame Catcher
 
W9WLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oakland City Ind.
Posts: 265
Send a message via Yahoo to W9WLS
Default

Welcome aboard John !
As Galen said , Grounding and Antennas are big concerns here.
With a Motor Home ,as with any mobile instal grounding is a major operation sometimes argument-ed by the fact that so many motor home's employ a great deal of fiber-glass which present's problems for "shielding" .
H.F. Antennas present other interesting problems on Motor Homes , let us know how you think you intend to operate and we'll try to help .
73, John W9WLS
__________________
DE: John W9WLS
W9WLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 06:51 AM   #4
W5DOK
Old Member
 
W5DOK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: In Gods country
Posts: 253
Default

Hi John, and welcome aboard. Let us know what you're trying to do and we'll give you all kinds of useful (and useless) opinions. My ID 880 uses a dual band antenna mounted in place of the cb antenna when running down the road and the IC 736 uses a Tarheel screwdriver or a Comet CHA 250 when parked.
Doc
W5DOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 10:38 AM   #5
Radio
Administrator
 
Radio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA, USA
Posts: 2,926
Default

Old fart, huh?

Yeah, you'll fit right in. Welcome aboard!
__________________

KU4OJ "Wade" Ships Captain, CFO, Chief Engineer
KG4DQQ "Kathy" 1st Officer, Navigator, Best Friend
2007 F-150 SuperCab - 2009 Rockwood 8280SS
Lot's of mostly Kenwood stuff

Radio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 02:50 AM   #6
kb0ou
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Joplin, MO
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks guys, I feel so warm and fuzzy all over....
Maybe I forgot a pill!!
kb0ou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 07:13 AM   #7
wa8yxm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mobile, on the road
Posts: 1,138
Send a message via AIM to wa8yxm Send a message via Yahoo to wa8yxm Send a message via Skype™ to wa8yxm
Default

I use a 100' Long wire with an auto tuner so I can change bands from my operator's chair without going otuside.

The Ham across the drive from me (Well he was getting ready to leave BEFORE I pulled in) he uses a portable crank up tower mounted to the rear of his rig with a pair of Ham Sticks in "Dipole" configuration.

There is one called the "BIG EAR" that is.. based on what he uses.

I like being able to operate 80/40/20 without goign outside but some parks object to the long wire..

A Screwdeiver, or a mini dipole on a mast.. That works

I also have a 25' Flagpole for VHF/UHF antennas when I care to put it up.
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 08:30 AM   #8
N3LYT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 666
Default

Here is my home made dipole by sliding the elements in and out I can do 10,12, and 15 meters. If I add two I can do 17 but that pretty well maxes it out!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dipole.jpg (64.9 KB, 54 views)
N3LYT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 02:56 PM   #9
kg6rzc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 5
Default

Been awhile since I have checked in, but lately, I have been fooling around with a mag loop mounted on a tripod. Seems to work OK for all the HF bands.....


BTW, I have several mag loops, two for QRP, and two for 100 watt hf. (One is coax loop, one is copper tubing loop, both of the QRP ones are flat aluminum commercially made)


hank
kg6rzc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 10:59 PM   #10
ChuckW5KAV
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Rochester WA
Posts: 23
Send a message via Skype™ to ChuckW5KAV
Default

Welcome Old Fart

I am also a newer member to the group, was warmly welcome
and have learned many new tricks
__________________
73 Chuck & Hildi
2006 Coachmen Chaparral 277ds

73 Chuck W5KAV
ChuckW5KAV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.