Open Roads Radio forum for Ham, Amateur Radio and RV camping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2012, 11:42 PM   #1
KF5BET
Senior Member
 
KF5BET's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 507
Default New scope for the shack

Yep that's right, I now have a scope for the shack!

My uncle gifted me a Tek 2225 dual channel scope. He retired and does not have a need for it anymore so he gave it to me.

He said it has a vertical problem in that he could not position the trace on channel 1 higher than the baseline. I had this problem as well, but after reading the service manual and following the instructions on initial setup, the traces on both channels seem to be working fine. Hopefully this is not a intermittent problem.

So now I have to buy a couple of probes for it and I am good to go. Does anyone have any comments on what probe to buy (remember I am frugal....). I saw some on ebay for about 10 bucks but I dunno
__________________
Galen - KF5BET
Crysti - "the CHIEF"
Abbi - KF5BEW dd
Kendra - KF5FYS dd
Maggie - Cat chaser
2005 F250, 1996 Nomad
KF5BET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 06:08 AM   #2
W9WLS
Senior Blame Catcher
 
W9WLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oakland City Ind.
Posts: 265
Send a message via Yahoo to W9WLS
Default

What sort of probe you buy or build depends on what your intended application is.
Some are nothing more than a capacitor for isolation.
some are "TUNED" for a given range.
If you intend to monitor your transmitter output there are adapters for that .
Do a little research, learn how to use the scope and you will learn what you need for what you want to do.
__________________
DE: John W9WLS
W9WLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 08:32 AM   #3
KF5BET
Senior Member
 
KF5BET's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 507
Default

Thanks Doc: I realized after I posted that I did not fully describe what I would use these probes for. I realize that there are many different applications. Probably just go for something general for now!
__________________
Galen - KF5BET
Crysti - "the CHIEF"
Abbi - KF5BEW dd
Kendra - KF5FYS dd
Maggie - Cat chaser
2005 F250, 1996 Nomad
KF5BET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 11:04 AM   #4
wa8yxm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mobile, on the road
Posts: 1,139
Send a message via AIM to wa8yxm Send a message via Yahoo to wa8yxm Send a message via Skype™ to wa8yxm
Default

Let me say this about that scope.... DROOL...

Used one not much different in college, Nice scope.
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:40 PM   #5
TXiceman
Senior Member
 
TXiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Near Houston, TX
Posts: 553
Default

Been going through my Father-in-laws shop and come upon a few items that may be of interest to some of the Hams.

Weston lab type volt meter in a big wooden case.
Heathkit oscillascope- won't power up
Heathkit shortwave receiver - won't power up on 12 VDC and the ni-cads are shot.
Heathkit variable AC power supply. I have not tries to power it up yet.

If any interest, I can post a photo and more info.

Ken
__________________
KE5DFR
2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB, 2012 F350 Dually crew cab, 6.7L,
Mobile- Yaesu FT857D w/ Lil' Tarheel II antenna and Larsen dual bander, Turbo Tuner.
Base unit...Kenwood TS480HX, LDG AT200 Pro tuner, Eagle One Vertical and Windom 80 meter dipole.
Standard Schnauzer..her call is K9WOOF
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 03:51 PM   #6
NN5I
Carl, nn5i
 
NN5I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,441
Default

Nearly any decent 10x probe will work well on a 50MHz oscilloscope. Me, I prefer real Tektronix probes. These can be bought inexpensively; for example see

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Tektronix-P6...item4168a3deb7

On my Tek 475A I use P6063B probes (fast for this 350MHz scope), but also have a set of 100MHz probes (P6105) that work as well when I don't need the speed, or (for example) when I need a 3rd probe for a separate sync input.
__________________
-- Carl
NN5I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 08:30 PM   #7
Radio
Administrator
 
Radio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA, USA
Posts: 3,017
Default

A little more about the SW receiver...

Are the manuals available?
__________________

KU4OJ "Wade" Ships Captain, CFO, Chief Engineer
KG4DQQ "Kathy" 1st Officer, Navigator, Best Friend
2007 F-150 SuperCab - 2009 Rockwood 8280SS
Lot's of mostly Kenwood stuff

Radio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 03:03 PM   #8
TXiceman
Senior Member
 
TXiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Near Houston, TX
Posts: 553
Default

It is a model GR76 and the manuals are available on line. The originals have not been seen.

Ken
__________________
KE5DFR
2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB, 2012 F350 Dually crew cab, 6.7L,
Mobile- Yaesu FT857D w/ Lil' Tarheel II antenna and Larsen dual bander, Turbo Tuner.
Base unit...Kenwood TS480HX, LDG AT200 Pro tuner, Eagle One Vertical and Windom 80 meter dipole.
Standard Schnauzer..her call is K9WOOF
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×