RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
Open Roads Radio forum for Ham, Amateur Radio and RV camping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2013, 12:21 PM   #1
KF5BET
Senior Member
 
KF5BET's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 507
Default Getting ready for digital

I am finally going to get into digital.

I bought a Tigertronics signalink yesterday at our hamfest. Will hook it up to the old Icom IC-740 and try my hand at digital.

Can't wait. I have been wanting to try some of the digital modes for quite a while.

Will have to make my own interface cable from signalink to the mic port of the radio since there is no DIN accessory port on the radio (too old). No bigee! Did all my research last night and will make cable today since I bought a mike connector yesterday as well.

Will keep you posted!
__________________
Galen - KF5BET
Crysti - "the CHIEF"
Abbi - KF5BEW dd
Kendra - KF5FYS dd
Maggie - Cat chaser
2005 F250, 1996 Nomad
KF5BET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:38 PM   #2
wa8yxm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mobile, on the road
Posts: 1,139
Send a message via AIM to wa8yxm Send a message via Yahoo to wa8yxm Send a message via Skype™ to wa8yxm
Default

Congrats, No let me tell you the next problem you are going to have...


Getting over that "Kid in the candy store with unlimited credit" feeling.

The kind of feeling you got when your first yellow retangle arrived from the FCC.

In my case interest in all things radio waxes and wanes.. It recently hit bottom, and is now on the rise.. I need to get all my computers back on line and then I'll be back into digital myself.. Kind of fun doing with 30 watts what I can't do with 100.

DO remember to run no more than 1/3 to 1/2 your radio's power out, (Turn down the audio to do it) You want the processor off and keep it below compression levels. NO equalization at all anywhere.
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:43 PM   #3
NN5I
Carl, nn5i
 
NN5I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,441
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
NO equalization at all anywhere.
Does that mean if I'm carrying an equalizer (as I usually am) I can't do digital? Dang, and I wanted to be a "big gun" station.
__________________
-- Carl
NN5I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:49 AM   #4
wa8yxm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mobile, on the road
Posts: 1,139
Send a message via AIM to wa8yxm Send a message via Yahoo to wa8yxm Send a message via Skype™ to wa8yxm
Default

Depends on what the equalizer equalizes.

(I thought that the equalizer you carried was digitally operated (Operated by a digit)
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:49 AM   #5
N3LYT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 709
Default

Ever one's getting new toys just ordered an new radio with USB connectivity no more level converters dozens of cables etc, computer control from away got to love it.
N3LYT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 10:29 AM   #6
NN5I
Carl, nn5i
 
NN5I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,441
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
Depends on what the equalizer equalizes.

(I thought that the equalizer you carried was digitally operated (Operated by a digit)
Of course. Now I feel better.
__________________
-- Carl
NN5I is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×